Motor Position (Depth)

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Codeman

Reaction score
OK I need some help.I have a 14' V hull boat, 9.9 Merc. How deep in the water does the motor need to be? Reason I ask is due to the fact that the boat really does not want to settle the nose down at all. With my lightweight buddy in the boat by himself it really stands up best we have gotten out of it is with my 300+LB body leaning over the front of the boat to balance it out, and that is trying the trim in all positions. I have been reading some and am thinking this could be my problem. I'm new to boats for the most part and I am pretty sure my motor is a long shaft and my transom in on the short side. Here is a pic of the boat. I'm going to stic the motor on it tonight and I'll get a good picture of all of it. Thanks for the help in advance.

PB150004-2.jpg

With my boat to keep the bow down I don't trim atoll,keep it close to the stern.Move what weight you can to the bow.As far as using a long shaft motor on a short transom,I have know experience there.Other than more drag to slow you down should be know problem,but maybe these statements are all wrong:)...

Well I guess it was bit of an optical illusion. The cav plate only measures 1.5 inches below the bottom of the boat. Its not that much but more than it needs right?

Pics.

Motor%20Depth%20003.jpg

Motor%20Depth%20005.jpg

Nice buggy.
That looks like it should be fine...is that a 2 bladed prop?not sure what effect that would have.
Does your outboard pump water(cooling)fine when it's running?If it's not in the water enough you have to watch your cooling,it's has to pump water.
Or maybe it's air cooled don't see any water(cooling)pick up?

Thanks on the buggy. Its got few miles on it.