Cmc pt-35 tilt and trim

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigben

Reaction score
I have a cmc pt-35 tilt and trim that the shaft seal is leaking and there parts and service will only sell you a new actuator is there some where I can buy a shaft seal without buying a new actuator surely someone repairs these things

I had one on my last boat. I took it apart very carefully on a clean bench. Watch for locations on the two checkballs, critical that they go back in the same spot. All of the seals are standard O rings which are available from many sources. I carried all of mine to a hydraulic parts company and they gave me a complete set of what I needed for $15.

I am a service tech for Raymond lift trucks (electric/hydraulic forklifts). As mentioned above, simply disasemble slowly. Taking pictures if necessary. If it does indeed use O-Rings ,get yourself a cheap pick set from harbor freight or Sears. Use the curved pick in the kit and VERY CARFULLY pierce the O-rings or try to go behind them and pull them out. Then go to a place like Catching Fluid Power, a hydraulic hose and hydraulic component dealer. Or possibly a local mom and pop implement shop. They will have what you need.

Not that I am trying to discredit the above comment, but, I have never seen o-rings in a high pressure hydraulic cylinder. Typically there is a wiper seal on top of the tube then a hydraulic cup type seal. Then again I have zero experience with CMC TT units. So I would trust the above comment over mine.

Hopefully it is o-rings. If that is the case, this is a fairly simple repair. Another good piece of advice was to do this on a clean surface. Possibly even in a baking pan so you don't loose any components. Also, use only lint free rags or paper towels. The lint can clog the orificaes in the manifold or valve assembly.