Time to rebuild Honda carb?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark_Fisher

Reaction score
As a 4-stroke newbie, I just bought a ~2003 honda BF20D manual start. Used it for two days. It started easily and ran like a Honda - solid, torquey, and quiet.

Then I took the motor off and left it on the foreshore while I worked on the hull. It was on its side, and I suspect that high tide got up to the carbs. (Not a submerged motor, but perhaps above the "down side" of the engine.)

The next day the motor would not start. Spark was good. The plugs appeared wet, and my standard 2-stroke fix -- pull the plugs, blow them off, open throttle and pull it over to clear fuel -- did no good. No visible water in the oil

Two weeks later and 500 miles away, I've drained the float bowl & refilled it, pulled the plugs and blown them dry with compressed air. I have gotten it to run for at most a minute, and never without the choke (Fuel enrichment valve) off. I am the proud owner of the $51 service manual (BIG!), but a little disappointed that there is little "Why we designed it this way" material.

I'm guessing that there's a passage or three in the carb that isn't open.

Does this make sense?
Any thoughts about rebuilding Honda carbs?

The answer would be "Yes."

P1011281_zpsu4ewrwxl.jpg

I don't think this happened because of a single dunk.

(Later: carb cleaned & hooked up. It will occasionally start and run with the FE plunger lifted, but if I attempt to "roll smoothly on" the engine dies. Goosing the throttle gets it past the "dead spot" (probably because of the acceleration pump). I suppose I missed some bypass channel in the carb casting...)

Well, after two trips to the carb cleaning bench, it started last night on pull #2 with the FE system active, but would not run on idle at all without that. My assumption is that I have a clog in the idle pilot circuit. So...