proper engine mounting hieght

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

heavy-chevy

Reaction score
i have a 20" shaft and i have read on another forum that the cavitation plate should sit level with the bottom on a john boat, so i built my transom according to this. last time i ran the boat i looked back for the first time at the engine and noticed that the bottom fin runs under the waterline and about an inch or two above it is dragging. now i have read that on a normal boat it should be 1-1.5 inches above the bottom of the boat. i know on any other boat that plate runs above the water line, but i have no previous experience with john boats. so my question is, is a john boat supposed to run this way or do i need to move the engine up more. it runs fine this way, but i was thinking maybe i could pick up a little more speed/fuel mileage.

That motor has low water pickup right? On many of the smaller OMC motors of the '80s, the water pickup was a split one, both on the top and bottom of the lower cav. plate. On these motors, you need to even up the top cav. plate to the hull. However, if you have a low water pickup (which from your pictures, I think it does) you can raise the motor to the point that the bottom cav. plate is even. If your transom jack added any setback, you might can go higher (biggest thing is to keep the water intake submerged), just see if you feel any prop blowout, especially on turns.