I need some help with an Evinrude 8hp Outboard

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 21876

Reaction score
I bought this motor and it has been a sitting awhile. I was originally told that it was a few yrs, now I found out that it was more like 20+, since about '93 or '94. I have purchased the original Evinrude carb kit and fuel pump kit, but I have never been in a marine 2 stroke carb. I have torn a ton of quadrajets apart when I was a mechanic yrs ago (25+).

What special tools do I need if any? I would also appreciate any tips you can provide as well.

Thanks and I hope everyone had a great Christmas!

Darryle

Rebuilding a carb is super simple. Some Seafoam is handy for cleaning parts. Take some pics with your phone as you disassemble just in case you make a mistake. Lay all the pieces out on clean paper towel in the order they came off. I have a Clymer manual for OMC motors 2-40hp 1973 to 1990 if you need me to scan the relevant page. Bet anything you like you could find a YouTube video of the relevant rebuild. If you have a compressor it can be handy for blowing out all the relevant passageways. No special tools needed.

Got all that, compressor and Sea Foam, where can I find the Clymer manual?

What about the flat plugs, how can I get them out?

I like to drill a 1/8th hole in the center, screw in a longish sheet metal screw, bend it up and down and left and right till it pops out.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Welcome Aboard Darryl and WalI.

E-Bay and Amazon is the go-to place for most outboard and boating projects.
manuals are readily available a lot of places on line. The name brand Clymer is just one of many.
look for the carb repair kit that includes the replacement plugs and lead balls.
also, https://www.marineengine.com will have all the schematics and part numbers for your motor for free.