1982 Johnson 9.9 - recoil starter issues

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pymybob

Reaction score
I have a '82 Johnson 9.9 and the pull rope won't retract back into the recoiler. I've tried rewinding it back onto the spool and it still won't retract so I'm assuming something broke within the part.

Does anyone have any experience with this or have any tips of what I should try before taking this apart? I've hit it with penetrating oil and that helped a bit.

Of course this happens now at the beginning of the season!

I would like to correct this myself rather than waiting for a shop to get around to it. If it is a recoiler replacement, are these easy to disassemble/reassemble? I've never done this before so I'd appreciate any and all advice!

I just rebuilt my 1982 15 HP, which should be the same. Yes, it's fairly easy.

Let me ask you, is the end of the recoil spring still protruding from the slot in the starter base cup, or did it get pulled in?

CMOS

It's possible that the other end of the recoil spring broke loose from the spring retainer and retainer pin. Time to pull it off. Best to remove the flywheel. It's easy to do. Pull the whole starter assembly off but don't pull out the main mounting screw too far which will make the whole assembly fall apart. I say this because it's better IMO to slowly disassemble it to see what went wrong.

Go here to look at a good diagram of the parts.

https://www.leeroysramblings.com/Johnson 9.9_15.htm

I suspect when you take it apart it will be apparent what has broken. Once we figure this out I'll IM you my phone number so I can walk you through it.

CMOS

I would not pull the flywheel. That assembly will come out without pulling the flywheel.

timsmcm said:
I would not pull the flywheel. That assembly will come out without pulling the flywheel.

It will but IMO it's much easier to pull the flywheel.

CMOS