winterize or not?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Starfire01

Reaction score
My boat is kept in an insulated garage .....never gets close to feezing. Should I winterize and if so can someone give me some suggestions on winterizing. I am new to this. The motor is a 2001 50 HP 2 cyl. Mercury.

Thanks

Jim said:
I wouldn't winterize. I would just fill the gas and put stabil in it.

I agree with Jim.I'd also check the lower unit gear case oil and change it if there's water in there.It'll look like coco if there is water in the gear case.I'd also drain the carb bowls.This will keep sludge and varnish from clogging the tiny passages inside the carb.

WINTERIZE :) that is when i do most of my fishing . take the bottom oil plug out and see if it has water [ oil looks like chocolate milk ] . if you live way up north you can`t run the boat for several months . yes winterize .if you have ethonol in the gass drain it . it has a short life span . try not to run it and leave some it the tank and carbs .

Shoot! This cold snap screwed me. My insulated garage didn't keep it warm enough. The water dishes for the pets froze. I have yet to winterize my boat.; am I screwed or not? The gasoline tank is half full and had stabil in from last year. Should I top it off and add stabil? You guys mentioned that I should check the lower unit for the oil to look like chocolate. I have no clue what/where that is. I am checking to see if I have the engine book...in the mean time any help would be appreciated.

okay, i found the maintenance book and i checked the oil in lower unit. No water and clean oil....It was winterized by a dealer last year.

You should winterize.

Having said that,I don't think your "screwed".