Help with jon boat wiring

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Target

Reaction score
I am in the middle of adding several electronics to my jon boat. I included a diagram of what I have so far.

I would like the nav lights and LEDs (# 6, 7, 8) on a switch. Thinking one of these:https://www.amazon.com/Iztoss-Marine-Electric-Toggle-Switch/dp/B019XWD0IE

I have never done switches before and get confused with bus bars, and fuse bars, etc. Can anyone recommend a simple way to wire this up? I definitely want a switch for the lights and want to avoid having tons of wires run to the battery.
Am I correct that a bus bar is basically a joining spot for all the wires so that you don't have them all running to the battery?

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• boat wiring_1.jpg
    boat wiring_1.jpg
    51.2 KB · Views: 1,878
"Am I correct that a bus bar is basically a joining spot for all the wires so that you don't have them all running to the battery?"

Yes, no and not at all. I am no expert and there are far more knowledgable guys who will respond.

But, your comment used the word ..ALL... Clearly, you know that the positive and the negative wires cannot be connected together, at a buss bar or any other place. If one did that, he/she would blow the fuses.

I've normally seen a high number of... Negative wires... attached to a buss bar. Then, individual ...Positive wires..are run to their own lights/switches etc. It may also be OK to run some Positive wires to a separate buss bar, and then split the Positive wires off.

Let's wait to hear from the experts for more. richg99