electrical question

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jacobd08

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to both this forum and as a boat owner. I am excited to be here and hope to learn a lot. I come with questions!

I recently purchased a used 17' Alweld aluminum boat and immediately started tinkering. The previous owner had several instruments messily wire together. I decided to redo the wiring and ran separate positive and negative wires from the front nav. light, the back nav. light, and bow mounted spotlight to a rocker panel. I stalled a negative bus bar between the battery and the rocker panel. The positive leads on all instruments connect directly to the rocker panel and the negative leads connect to the negative bus bar. All lights work fine when their corresponding switch is flipped. However, the spotlight now makes a very loud high-pitched whistling noise while on. I have searched the internet and this forum to try and find answers with no luck. Does anyone have any ideas? Thanks

Small shorts in wires or carbon/corrosion build-up on electrical contacts can lead to similar 'on/off' striking and cause electrical humming or buzzing. Clean everything well or use NEW connectors. Also do a resistance check if you used old wires, as maybe one is corroded inside.

Are the wires used too small? You need to measure the run BOTH ways and that total length is used to address the AWG needed for the amp draw. If the spotlight rating is in watts, divide it by 12.6 (nominal VDC) to get the amp draw.

Wire Ampacity Chart.jpg