Rod and reel suggestions- First time post

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JSutton1391

Reaction score
I'm new to this forum and this is my first time post, so bear with me if I ramble. My boys and I are new to fishing. I've been out a few times since June with them and we've caught our share of largemouth, smallmouth, perch- you name it! I'm ready to graduate to a more "serious" rod and reel and don't know where to start. I'll have some more money to spend by the holidays ($100-125) and plan on making my purchase at that time. I currently fish with a very basic but trustworthy Zebco 33 combo. I've done a lot of research over the past month or two, and I don't feel comfortable quite yet with a baitcaster, but a spinning reel setup seems like a good place to start. We've been targeting bass when we fish, and most caught have been in the 2 pound range, but I want something that won't fall apart if I hook something bigger. I estimate my needs will be met with something capable of handling around 8-16 pound line, slightly greater than 1/2 OZ weight capability, and a rod length of 6 to 7 feet. I'll be fishing mostly jigs, spinners, and the occasional smaller crankbait with this setup, and figure I should probably stick with something moderate power with medium to fast action (I could be off on this though). Don't know if this matters, but we fish from the shore of several lakes in northeastern Oklahoma (Grand Lake, Fort Gibson Lake, Lake Keystone, and several municipal ponds around the Tulsa area) since we don't own a boat. We have a Bass Pro in Tulsa and I plan on making my purchase there, but I'll go wherever for the best value. Am I way off base with my price point and specs? Any ideas on the equipment I should be looking at?

Attachments

• IMG_20140921_141330.jpg
    IMG_20140921_141330.jpg
    63.9 KB · Views: 3,205