Noob starting a build

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bookerf

Reaction score
I'm a stealhead and salmon fisherman and for years I've watched the jet boat guys shooting from hole to hole until they find a pod of fish. Well I'm done watching :D I acquired a 18ft x 6ft lowe mod v recently and I'm going to make this my first jet boat build! 8) I want your guys input on if you think this is a good boat for the job. I'll include pics below. I just finished stripping it down and it looks pretty good to me :?: Mind you I'm no boating expert obviously. I plan on a inboard jet set up, possible a aquajet if I can come up with the money :p .. Any recommendations are welcomed I've seen and read about many smaller jet boat builds but nothing quite 18ft.

In the front there is a homemade live well that I'm thinking of keeping and making into a bench seat while keeping the live well below. I want to put the console right in front of the live well bench seat but my concern is that it will be to far forward if there is such a thing??...

What do you guys think?
IMG950530.jpg
IMG950819.jpg
IMG950815.jpg
IMG950817.jpg

Yea it will be fun for sure. :D I want the console as far forward as I can get it I'm thinking right in front of the live well that I'm going to turn into a bench seat. The front edge of the live well is 5ft 7in from the tip of the boat. You guys think that's to far forward? How will it affect getting on plan?

If you go with jet drive, I would recommend a 4 stroke engine & all welded construction.

Your donor boat looks like it should do the job. Fix any leaks 1st before you cover them up.

Thanks Cedar, will do.
Anyone have any experience with Berkeley Jet drives? How are they? I can get one almost for free.

most of us used jet ski parts it will be interesting to see someone do it with actual jet boat parts :D