Bottom Coat

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1gr8bldr

Reaction score
I'm looking to do something to the bottom of my hull to protect it. Its a 24 ft SeaArk with 150Yamaha Jet. It's 18 years old and probably wearing thin in places. Especially the corners. I don't know what all options are out there. I suspect, for protection that I should weld an angle along both edges before doing anything. I need recommendations for something like a spray in bed liner.

Are you just wanting a spray on coating? I've heard of some stuff called "gator glide" that's supposed to be pretty good but I have no experience with it. You could always have some UHMW put on it but that would add more weight.

Are you thinking that a coating will reinforce the hull skin? Or just protect it from corrosion?

A coating will do nothing to make it stronger.

How about a picture of your rig? Sounds like a cool boat!

Not really looking for anything to make it slick. But rather help protect it from gouging from when I do get on something. The river I fish is full of big rocks, shallow passages from one area to another. I'm thinking something like a spray in bed liner for a truck. But I'm asking because I just don't know what options there are.