Arrrgh, computer crashed

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Waterwings

Reaction score
Got home today and my computer crashed hard. Worked great last night. Called tech support and nothing worked, not even the recovery disc. They're sending me a box to ship it out for a repair. Thank goodness I bought the 3 yr warranty service plan :) . I'm on my wife's laptop, and I sure miss my 22" HP Touchsmart.

Thanks, Jim. The tech guy told me 10-15 days, hopefully. I'm out of my comfort zone sitting at the kitchen table using the laptop, instead of in the comfort of my man-cave room upstairs, lol. Gonna have to re-load a bunch of stuff I had in my favorites folder as a one-click convenience, plus my Norton, Zune, and Garmin accounts. :shock:

Bummer! I used to scoff at the extended warranty plans, but once I started working on computers for a living, I changed my tune in a hurry: in the long run it will likely save you a lot of hassle... and money.

Waterwings said:
Thanks, Jim. The tech guy told me 10-15 days, hopefully. I'm out of my comfort zone sitting at the kitchen table using the laptop, instead of in the comfort of my man-cave room upstairs, lol. Gonna have to re-load a bunch of stuff I had in my favorites folder as a one-click convenience, plus my Norton, Zune, and Garmin accounts. :shock:
Get yourself a copy of Acronis TrueImage backup software. It has saved my butt on more than one occasion, and for $50, it's cheap insurance for your settings and data.