1992 Merc 40hp Classic ( 4 cylinder two stroke)

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

airshot

TinBoats Supporter
Reaction score
Went to go for a ride today and found a pair of wires pinched and stripped of insulation from the power tilt/trim. The bare wires touched and shorted. Went vack home and cut back the frayed section and made new connections to check things out. The 20 amp fuse was blown under the cowl, bought some new ones and the trim works once again, but the fuse blew each time I turned over the starter. Removed the plugs to look at each piston go up and down. The motor will turn over a couple times with plugs removed, but once you stop and try to turn it over again, the fuse blows right away. this motor is in mint condituon, like new stored inside its whole life. Has always ran perfect and been well maintained. I am not an electrician, but do understand basic electricity. When the wires shorted out, did this affect the starter or should I be looking at other things ??? Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.

Took this from another sire/person...you have probably already seen something similar

"If this power fuse blows only when you turn the key to the START position, remove the 3/8" terminal wires from the solenoid, then retry (with new fuse installed) turning the key to that START position again. If the fuse still blows, there is a short in the wire leading from the "S" terminal of the ignition switch to the 3/8" nut solenoid terminal.

If it does not blow, then either the solenoid or the starter is shorted out.

If the fuse blows simply when you turn the key to the ON position, some component or wire is shorted out that leads from (connects to) the "A" (accessory) terminal of the ignition switch. In this case, finding the problem would consist of a matter of elimination...... disconnecting items until the fuse no longer blows"