Alumacraft 1457

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrbillsfan311

Reaction score
First off, great forum! Lots of knowledge! I'm new to the site and I'm already picking up a lot of info. I recently traded my G1 golf cart & homemade trailer for an Alumacraft 1457 (that's what the model plate says) and trailer. The boat has plenty of work to do before it can fish, mostly cleaning because it was basically pulled up and parked without a cover a few years ago and has been sitting there ever since.
I would like to deck part of the boat, mostly the very front and part of the stern, however, I'm concerned about weight. The rating is 630lbs but by the time you factor in 2 beer bellies, 1 or 2 batteries, a gas tank & outboard plus gear and a cooler, 630lbs adds up fast and the thought of adding a bunch of wood concerns me. I'm not a pro carpenter but own a woodworking shop and have done plenty of remodeling to know wood tends to get very heavy. So, has anyone used 2x4 steel studs? How about sheet aluminum wrapped with carpet for the deck?
I don't have a gas engine but an older trolling motor and I'm thinking about going all electric. My concern is battery life and more weight. I'd like to add a radio, cabin lights and a small live well and the boat already has a working bilg pump & depth finder. If I add an extra trolling motor, won't I need 2 or 3 batteries to keep up with demand, thus adding more weight, right? What about battery life?

I may be over analyzing it but I want my homework totally done before I go ripping into the boat. It has great potential that I would like to achieve but am worried about a few things, like weather the boat is even wide enough to do the project. I'll get some photos up of the project over the next day or so and thank you for any feedback/help you guys can give.

Welcome to the site.
Lots of questions and I'm sure there will be more.