Best Fishing Magazine??

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

medicman619

Reaction score
My son brought home one of those fundraisers that sells magazines. I wanted to hear from everyone what they feel is the best fishing magazine. I live in Ohio, so only freshwater lakes and creeks.

I do not hunt or fly-fish.

POSSIBLE LISTINGS:

Bassmaster
American Angler - looks like a fly-fishing mag??
Cabela's Outfitter Journal
Field & Stream
Game & Fish - Ohio edition
In-Fisherman

I have a subscription to In-Fisherman so I have sometihing to read during lunch. one thing about it is that it comes out 10 time's a year instead of 12. It's a pretty good magazine, I'd like to subscribe to a couple more magazines so I was glad to see your post.

In-fisherman

Bassmaster is ok, but they have dumbed down the articles more and more each year.

Not on your list, but my two favorites are FLW Outdoors, and Musky Hunter

I enjoy field and stream, don't have a subscription but I do buy a few a year. They have good gear reviews and good articles for the outdoors in general. It is a good mix between hunt and fish - I think someone who only fishes would still enjoy it..

I read a few of the more local magazines "The Fisherman" NY, NJ and DE edition and "On the Water" https://www.onthewater.com/

I have gotten Bassmaster the last few years as well as currently and enjoy that magazine. I agree with the narrowing down of the articles like LonLB has mentioned but I still enjoy it.

I started getting In-Fisherman a few months ago, thats a good one as well. It covers a broad variety of fish species and not just bass. Both are very informative also.

Those are my two votes