deciding on my first rig, thoughts on Triton TS-17?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boilers

Reaction score
Hey guys. This is my first post. I have a few years of boating experience with my dad (bass fishing), but now I am finally looking for my first boat.

Heres my criteria:

-reasonably cheap to haul (gas)
-reasonably cheap to operate (gas)
-must have at least one console w/ power trim, etc,
-fits in my 230" (wall to door) garage. SHORT I KNOW!!! I hate it.Thats what she said. I am not paying someone to store my boat! And it isnt going outside! I think I can handle a 17' boat as long as the tongue is removable or it hinges.
-can handle 1-2' waves at the very worst. This will be for leisurely fishing I'm thinking. I dont plan to take on any extreme weather, nor do I plan to be on the water when the skiers and tubers come out, though it could happen on accident.
-priced $2-10k
-I dont mind if its old, but it needs to be reliable, I aint into rebuilding transoms or hulls anything like that.

Honestly, I'm thinking about going with an aluminum rig. Alumacraft V170, Triton TS or VS 17, Lowe, Xpress, or something along those lines.

What do you guys suggest based on my criteria?

I have found a 2007 Triton TS-17 that seems like the perfect fit for me. It got a Mercury Optimax 90HP 2 stroke (less than 75 hours), Motorguide 70 LB trolling motor, Garmin 300C fishfinder/GPS (bow), built in Lawrence x50 (console),Road King trailer w/ detachable tongue, Triton matching boat cover, brand new batteries, etc.

The seller says it fits in a 18x10' garage with the trailer tongue removed, motor cranked all the way to one side, and backed into the corner of the garage.

Asking price is just shy of $10k