Does adding decking improve stability?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gblittle

Reaction score
Hey y’all. First jon and first post here. Those of you that have added decking, did you notice any improved stability? Seems to me that decking would perhaps distribute weight, at least to some point, and possibly improve stability. I’m no structural engineer, just a theory. Also, what thickness did you use? If using foam padding between the ribs, is 1/2” overkill? Thanks in advance for your input, and looking forward to collaborating with everyone!

Edited to add that mine is a 1436 Landau flat bottom.

It will add stability however it might not be a lot. 1/2" definitely isn't overkill. If stability is your primary objective then extra weight in the bottom by thicker decking wouldn't be a bad thing. Personally I'd go with the 1/2 and then add ballast if needed with a battery and or fuel tank, gear etc.

There will be some increase in stability, simply because you're adding weight low in the boat. However, I don't think it will be a significant increase.

What it DOES do, in my opinion, is create a better surface for standing on and increases comfort over the course of the fishing day. That comfort is valuable, especially for my older feet and legs. You're not constantly shifting your weight to take pressure off certain points on your foot or ease discomfort in knees, legs, and back. That, to me, is just as important as stabilizing the hull. In a way, better ergonomics is also an increase in boat stability.

It will add stability however it might not be a lot. 1/2" definitely isn't overkill. If stability is your primary objective then extra weight in the bottom by thicker decking wouldn't be a bad thing. Personally I'd go with the 1/2 and then add ballast if needed with a battery and or fuel tank, gear etc.