Flathead Catfish Shocked For Removal

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lowe

Reaction score
The following write up was taken from the In Fisherman Catfish Insider 2008. It was associated with an extensive article dealing with flathead catfish, which was written by Dr. Hal Schramm.

[ I've been listening to stories about "teleponin' catfish" for 30 years. Funny how it was always the storyteller's uncle, second cousin, or in-law doing the cranking. Well, all those violators should head to Columbus County in North Carolina, where a fishing license and a $10 special device permit allows recreational anglers to use hand-crank generators to catch flatheads in 30 miles of the Cape Fear River, 10 miles of the Black River, and the reaches of the Lumber and Waccamaw rivers.

This one-of-a-kind fishery was the result of local legislation and was not supported by the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission. An evaluation found no evidence that recreational electrofishing reduced either invasive blue or flathead catfish, yet the electrofishing continues. Yes, politics can be very local and often trumps good biology.

Flatheads ravaged the blackwater streams of South Carolina just as in other coastal states. In response to declining redbreast sunfish populations, well-meaning legislators ordered the stocking of 1 million redbreast fingerlings yearly into the Edisto River. Their recruitment is strongly influenced by environmental conditons, so it is too early to tell whether this solution will have a positive effect.