help identifying this boat

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

craveman85

Reaction score
Ive been driving by this boat for 2 years now and it just sits lonely in a field. Finally i decided to talk to the guy about it and asked him if its for sale. Found out he cant use it anymore due to MS and he gave me a good price on it. It comes with a decent trailer, a fish finder, oars, life jackets, 3 seats, a johnson seahorse 6hp, 2 gas tanks and some other goodies for 600 and i have to mow the field with his tractor when i take the boat out. hes got to dig up the paperwork for the boat and trailer for me still so ill be picking it up either friday or sunday. theres no id plate since someone replaced the transom wood. what retard decided to put the id plates on the transom wood anyways? so until he digs up the registration im not sure what year make or model the boat is. ive never seen one quite like it. its a hard chined flat bottom not a semi v. but its pointed like a v. anyone have any ideas as to what it is?

It's got current 2014 registration so just call the Fish and Game with the hull ID, NY226CF and ask them. They won't give out personal info, but the make of the boat isn't personal and you "want to be sure it's not stolen".

No clue in who made it but I can identify the type. It's not a V or John type boat, it's a type of Aluminum Skiff. Wood skiffs of that type are pretty common.

If it does not have the 12 digit Coast Guard # stamped somewhere on the hull, then it's pre-1972.

Aren't skiffs usually found in Costa waters? That would explain why I've never seen any up here in the Adirondacks

Any pros or cons to fishing from a skiff? It will see 90% of its time trolling in 30-180 feet of water.

That should make a fine fishing boat. Perfect for what you want to do.