Jet foot height question

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I haven’t had a chance to run my new setup yet, but I’m wondering how you think it will run. I have a 25 Merc factory jet on a 1548 Tracker Grizzly mod v. The foot sits 7 inches behind the bottom hull edge. The leading edge of the shoe is 1.75 inches above the lowest point of the v. The bolt on the side of the the shoe is 1.25 inches above the lowest point of the v.

I’m a beginner with jets but, it sounds like you’re in the ballpark. It will be interesting to hear what others with more experience say. Please keep us posted.

I also have a Merc 25 jet. Mine is on a Lowe 1448M that I’m rigging this winter. It’s too heavy to safely test on my boat without more weight up front or pods. In a squirrelly test with the front of the foot about an 1” above the flat hull it was doing about 22mph at WOT. It can probably do a little better with some fine tuning.

FYI - The same hull with a Suzuki F9.9/20hp conversion will do 27mph but, the Zuk is a prop and about 90 lbs lighter than the Merc jet.

Welcome to TinBoats!

Can you post a pic of the side view? Are the measurements with the trim, all the way in/down? If the leading edge of the foot is 7" away from the transom, that seems a tad far.

We had a Tracker Grizzly 1448 mod-V. It was cockpit style and was a heavy boat. The 25 jet might be on the low side for your 1548. If a tiller, plan on moving weight forward. Batteries, gas, etc.

I’m a beginner with jets but, it sounds like you’re in the ballpark. It will be interesting to hear what others with more experience say. Please keep us posted.