Motor size for 1448 boat

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TN_tinyboat

Reaction score
Hello, newbie here to TinBoats, thanks for the add by the way. Recently purchased a Sea Nymph 14 V-hull with Tohatsu 6HP. I went through the exercise of adding seats and bow mount trolling motor and took it out on Old Hickory Lake for the first time this past weekend. I was really disappointed in the stability of this boat. I am a rather large guy at 6'7" and had my fishing buddy which is about the same height as me but little heavier. Anyway, I am not comfortable with this boat and have decided to sell it and get a boat much similar to what my dad had for years, which was a 1448 Tracker Grizzly. My question is will the Tohatsu 6hp be too small of an engine for a 1448 aluminum boat with two guys and a trolling motor? I do not have the need to run down the lake at 70mph to beat anyone to a fishing spot but if I need to make a 1-2 mile run is that asking too much for this small motor? Looking for thoughts so if I should hang on to motor or sell it with the Sea Nymph? Thanks for any suggestions or personal experiences.

I've already used a 4.5 on a 17' Starcraft SFM, it got me there but SLOWLY!
I would go with a min. of 15hp, better yet go with the rated hp for the boat as already suggested, i doubt if you will be sorry by going with the bigger motor.

Grizzly's are heavy boats. A 6hp on there would be a glorified trolling motor. You really need to go with the hull rating which should be 25hp at a minimum. FWIW there are decent amount of youtube videos of that exact boat with various motors on it for reference.