Newbie here! Check out my little craigslist find...

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

willyg

Reaction score
Hey everyone! First post, because I am also pretty new to boating in general, googled around, and found out this forum was the best for "tinnys"?...

I recently purchased my first boat ever, and got a GREAT deal (I think), through a guy on craigslist. $200 for this 9.5' aluminum rowboat? dinghy? jon boat? Not sure exactly what it is, though it says "Viking" on the transom corners. He said he thinks it's from the 60s or 70s? No idea. What sold me, was its size. Its around 46" in width and I have a Ford F150 w/ a 6.5' short-bed. This thing fits perfectly back there between the wheel wells. Ahh...nice and portable. No need for dealing with a trailer or whatever.

Anyways, I am just looking to have a little fun with this thing. Obviously, completely stripping and repainting, replacing any rivets or screws, etc. It's all aluminum, and I have already float tested it, and NO leaks. Was just looking for a little toy to go fishing in a lake, or paddling down a creek. Been looking at the Minn Kota C2 motors, and thinking of a 30lb thrust? Maybe 40? Will do some research, and see what will be sufficient for me and a buddy, or me and my 100lb dog, James!

Glad I found this forum, and enjoy reading all the tips and tricks, and photos of your projects!
I will do as much research as I can, but ANY advice for the beginner would be appreciated!

Whatcha think?

Q5aoZTM.jpg

2dy2rMl.jpg

pGPCDpp.jpg

hay willyg, exclent find, if you get it registered you can use a trolling motor, I have a 10' 36" flat bottom sears 70 model