What boat to buy?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonboatboy

Reaction score
Hello Tinboats. New to the posting part of this site but Im a vet from reading on here. Im wanting everyones opinion on a new jon boat. I want to start off by saying I currently fish out of a 1232 jon that has heavy duty deck built up front with a 43# thrust trolling motor and a 80 something model 9.8 mercry I got from a buddy who was the second owner of the boat it came off of. Motor is the cleanest outboard Ive ever seen. Im wanting to stay around a 1000 bucks cause times are hard but Im wanting something that doesnt tip like my 12 footer so this summer I can take my ole lady and my 1 year old out to see what lifes all about on the water. I found a Weldbuilt 1448 scratch and dent at a local dealer for 1100. Its super sturdy looking and it has a self arreated livewell which is a must for my new boat off to the left side. It also has aluminum fishing deck with pedistool mount up front. My only concern is that I want to use my 9.8 but Im scared it wont push a bigger boat fast enough to suit me. My 1232 does 14mph with me (165lbs) and all my gear. It also is only rated for a 6hp and sits up past the rib on the side of the boat in the water(rides heavy in the water). If I could get this 1448 and my 9.8 push it about the same speed I would be happy. Ive watched Craigslist and looked at alot of boats but decided I was tired of wasteing gas and time looking at other peoples junk so I said Ima get a jon until my family out grows it. I mainly fish Barren river but Ill visit Barren River Lake and Green river from time to time here in Kentucky. Any and all opinions and info. about other boats that would would fit my needs/price range will be greatly appreciated. Ive seen alot of smart guys on here and this site has been my come to place for ideas so I know theres alot of knowledge and great