Yamaha T50TLR on 18x60 weldbilt low power

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcdowellkm

Reaction score
I know i have never posted here before, but here is my problem. I am a diesel technician so i'm pretty handy with these sort of things usually, but this one has me a little taken back. first lets go through a little history.

Bought my 2003 WeldBilt 18x60 flat bottom boat 2 years ago for a duck/river boat. It has a 2001 Yamaha T50TLR High Thrust tiller on it. When i purchased the unit it had sat for 3 years un-used. Fuel tank was full of nasty stuff so i took it out cleaned with solvent and also replaced the fuel line from the bow of the boat where the tank is all the way back to the motor. Carbs were also full of trash so i took them off, cleaned all 4 of them in untrasonic as well as pulling the jets (both idle and main), as well as the emulsion tubes and throughly cleaned them at the same time. Boat would then (once started) run like a sowing machine. Had a problem with it being hard to start. Would make about 1 revolution then would act like it had a dead battery (or an old chevy with headers causing heat soak in the starter). Fixed this problem by adjusting the valves (which with all the paint that was still on the bolt heads told me had never been done). Now she starts and runs very smooth with no question as to reliability.