New 14 footer, flooring modification

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PikeSlayer

Reaction score
Ok, so I put some feelers out on a different thread, but didn't have much of a response. I've got my sights pretty well locked in on a 70's 14' Mirrocraft Deep V. I'm new to the concept of boat ownership. I grew up fishing out of 14' and 16' aluminum boats, but never one with more of a modification than some flooring between the seats. I would really like to put flooring in the bottom of this boat, but want some advice before I pull the trigger on this boat. This boat has 3 bench seats. My thought is that I can remove the middle bench seat and put flooring between the back seat and the forward seat. Then I want to deck from the top of the front seat to the front of the boat so I can mount a bow mount trolling motor. I have inherited a 2 year old Merc 10 horse 4 stroke. My big questions are if adding decking to a boat this size (about 220 lbs empty) will cause it to be kind of a dog with just a 10 horse, and if removal of the middle seat will cause issues with the strength/stability of the boat?

Here are pics of the boat I'm looking at. What would you guys consider to be a fair asking price for a boat like this? I'll definitely need to sand and paint the trailer as well as the boat. I am just wondering what is a guess at a fair asking price. Thanks!

Attachments

• 5G75Fb5Ha3G23Id3Lac2ad05c7e3811731391.jpg
    5G75Fb5Ha3G23Id3Lac2ad05c7e3811731391.jpg
    13.7 KB · Views: 487
  • 5I55F45Jb3G93M73H7c2ad2ca25003a881b83.jpg
    5I55F45Jb3G93M73H7c2ad2ca25003a881b83.jpg
    7 KB · Views: 487
  • 5Ib5Ka5M33Gd3I93Fbc2a43130754d2ac1c08.jpg
    5Ib5Ka5M33Gd3I93Fbc2a43130754d2ac1c08.jpg
    11.8 KB · Views: 487