Testing an electric choke?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blake

Reaction score
Just to make sure my electric choke is functioning properly, can I just watch it while the engine is warming up and visually see it opening up?

'01 25 four stroke Yamaha.

Most electric outboard chokes I've seen only closed while you have the key depressed or button in some cases. But I've got zero experience with 4 strokes so maybe they operate differently. Automatic chokes on vehicles are the only ones I know of that open gradually as the engine warms up, but that may be the way 4 strokes work for all I know.

With the key on and pushed in it should function. What motor is it? The merc 20 I had the installer used the wrong pigtail, should have been a 9 pin they used a 6 pin. Something to that effect. Thats how I discovered the problem. The choke never worked. I ended up using a piece of stainless wire fed through a rubber plug and manually operated it.

25 yamaha 4 stroke, and many others, do not have electric "choke". They have prime start. The way it works is very similar to an ATV carburetor's prime start (aka choke). A passageway in the body of the carburetor is closed off by the plunger built into the prime start assembly. A cold prime start, the plunger is "up" (sucked into the prime start body). This opens up the passages to allow extra air and fuel into a cold engine. Once the engine is running, the generator supplies voltage to the 2 wires of the prime start, which warms it up. As it warms up, the plunger "drops" back down into the carb body, which closes off the enrichment passages.