Paint for Rusty Trailer

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

john3

Reaction score
I'm a rookie - I admit it.

Here's what I have: I just bought a 16' Dilly Jon Boat Trailer. It has been sitting outside and has many rust spots. Not only that it looks like crap! Anyhow - considering Bass Pro wants $1100 for a jon trailer - I think I can make this one work out.

So here is my question: I want a nice looking coat of paint on the trailer that will also help with my rusting problem. Any ideas?

Would you mind to help me with instructions on sanding, primer (if necessary), and paint? Like I said, I'm a rookie!

Thanks for your help.

-John

There is a product called por15 it is used mainly for classick cars they have coatings for frames and alot of other things. it is kinda expensive but a little goes along way. you can just get off the loose rust and paint right over the rest and it will not rust again. i used it on my 1969 gto. its very durable but dont get it on your skin because i did and it doesent come off with any thing but time. [-X hope this helps

X2 on the por15. I used it on the bottom of my project car. Good stuff, you will have to topcoat some of it because it will react to uv. They explain it on the website.

I used farm implement paint from Tractor Supply with the hardener. I made the decision to go all the way down to bare metal and individual parts when I re-did my trailer. It was time consuming but I'm totally pleased with the results. You can see my build with the link in my signature. Which reminds me, I need to post the final pictures from the trailer - I've already started on the boat.

I went with the Grinder with the 3m paint strippin discs and Herculiner bed liner stuff 2 coats.

BEFORE

190483_1882761118434_1523539454_2030244_1924265_n.jpg

Loose paint, scale, rusty