Camera Purchase/Battery Advice TOP 10 LIST

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fender66

Reaction score
Hey guys/gals.

I've read several posts/complaints about short battery life and bad camera purchases that I thought this might deserve a post.

I've been making my living for the past 24 years as a professional photographer, and I've seen a lot of progress when it comes to digital photography. (actually....I've seen almost all of it) Anyway, here are a few tips for anyone that's looking to buy a digital camera. (assuming I'm qualified to give tips #-o )

1. Determine what your budget is (meaning how much you have to spend total on camera and accessories)
2. Pick a camera that has a rechargeable battery (NiCad or Litium Ion). The ones that use AA or AAA etc, go through batteries faster than you can take pictures. If you already have a camera that uses AA or AAA batteries, look into the rechargeable ones. It will save you some money, and they tend to last longer.
3. NOW, pick a camera that not only fits your budget, but with that budget, will allow you to buy a second battery (refer to rule # 2) and 2 memory cards. I say 2 memory cards because if you only have 1, it's sure to fail on you when you need it the most. ( i.e. 6lb hog and nobody around to confirm your catch)
4. Make sure you have a charger for your batteries
5. If you don't like the slow speeds of the cheaper cameras (due to slow processor speeds), the only way to overcome this is to buy a SLR (single lens reflex) camera. One with interchangeable lenses (much more expensive) Slow cameras are the ones that take a second or two to take the picture after you've pushed the button....and, they take a long time to load the image before you can take the next pic.
6. Buy a camera bag to hold your camera and accessories.