Custom Tandem Axle for my 14'er

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flat_Bottum

Reaction score
Hello all, I am in the middle of rebuilding my Polar Kraft jet boat and am thinking or redoing the trailer while I am at it. It has more surface rust then paint, about 18" too short for the boat and is just all in all pitiful looking. Now, I have an idea of how I want my trailer to come out but need some assistance since I have never built one before.

A few years so, I went to go pick up a transmission for my jeep and the guy pulled up at the meeting location pulling a little 4x8 utility trailer. What set it apart is the fact that he had done a custom tandem setup with twin 2k axles. Now, I know that it is not needed but it was just a scaled down version of a larger utility trailer and I fell in love. Well, I am wanting to do the same with my trailer. I am weighing the pros and cons of altering my current trailer or just building a brand new one from scratch. Im not sure if I will want to use a tandem hanger setup for the leaf springs but was thinking of using dual slipper style leaf packs but face the slipper ends facing away from each other so to save room and keep the tires closer together. Does anyone see any issues with this? Any advise will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

A standard tandem axle has an equalizer which keeps all the tires on the ground as it goes over uneven surfaces. A trailer with multiple individual sprung axles will lift one or the other set of tires off the ground as it goes over curbs putting all the weight of the trailer and load on just one axle and springs. If the total weight of the trailer and load doesn't excide the capacity of either axle and springs it can be done.
There are trailers with multiple torsion axles. Google "Walking Beam Axle".

it is not about having a "problem" - it is about looking COOL going down the road.