Johnson 9.9 Advice needed

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ocbinva

Reaction score
Does anyone have any advice on a good book or web page regarding the restoration of the Johnson 9.9 from the late 80s. I was given one for free and the guy said it ran when he stored it but that was he said at least a decade ago. I just want to figure out what minimum steps I need to take to ensure I don't ruin it while trying to start it or a way to evaluate it to see if it's worth any effort whatsoever. I have restored many vintage vehicles and motorcycles over the years but I have no experience with OBs. Off the top of my head I can think about cleaning the carburetor, replace rubber hoses, replace impeller, and all fluids and grease. Any insight is appreciated.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

The 1st thing I would do is a compression test. If it has bad compression, it probably isn't worth all the cost to do a powerhead rebuild.

No need to get it started, just do it cold. Squirt some 2 cycle oil in, just to give it the benefit of the doubt.

If that is good, a water pump impeller, points, carb needle/seat/float, & fuel pump diaphram would not be wasted money.

Check lower unit oil for water intrusion too, worn seal is common.

Geez...duh... Guess its early. Not sure how i missed that since i always check compression on all old engines before i commit to a new build. My idiot gene is hard to hid with anything less than 3 cups of coffee. Happen to know what a good working pressure would be?