Klamath 14 footer project

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nobaddays443

Reaction score
Hi all, starting a new thread with a new (old) boat! Im brand new to tin boats and decided that my first purchase (12 foot Sea King) wasn’t the right fit for the family. Although I got it at a great price with a trailer so no complaints here !!! The 12 footer wasn’t going to be safe enough to have my wife and 2 young kids in, in my opinion.

NEW PLAN!!!

14 foot Klamath with my 9.9 4 stroke Honda

Any other Klamath 14’ owners on here ??? I didn’t see any on the huge index of boats and aren’t really finding any through the search tab. Although I could be using that wrong.

Attachments

• 47DED86D-0151-45E9-8FF1-8E4BD7B67CDB.jpeg
    47DED86D-0151-45E9-8FF1-8E4BD7B67CDB.jpeg
    28.9 KB · Views: 413
  • 71A41A4A-5F24-4039-A124-E2A38D35AD11.jpeg
    71A41A4A-5F24-4039-A124-E2A38D35AD11.jpeg
    3.7 MB · Views: 411
My previous boat was a 15' Klamath. I liked it a lot. Light, easy to handle single-handed, fuel efficient. I currently have a Gregor.

BTW, about 45 years ago I joined a trap shoot tourney at the Newman Swamp Rats place. I didn't win anything but a guy did give me a Newman Swamp Rats hat.

Sorry for the delay on progress pics, I’ve been working hard on my Sea King, getting her ready to be sold. That’s done so now I can focus on MY boat 😃

QUESTION:

Let’s talk foam. My Klamath has foam (looks like styrofoam pieces) inside the drivers bench and in one of the boxes attached to the drivers bench.

1) how does one calculate how much foam is needed?
2) do I really need foam? All passengers will always have PFDs on. I’m not sure where a ton of foam would go on this boat. I’m not building a deck. The front two bench seats have storage...