Newbie with 1979 Tracker II

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MonroeBobo

Reaction score
Hi

I have been reading this forum on and off for a few years now. I believe this is my first post. A few years ago I had a 1432 Delhi jon boat an used ideas from this forum to do a few things to it. Nothing major though. I have enjoyed and learned a ton from reading these forums. While I am very good with wood, I am an absolute amateur when it comes to metal. So this project am starting is going to be learn as you go learning process.
2 years ago I was browsing Craigslist and ran up on a 1979 Bass Tracker II 16' 42" wide at the floor with the original 40HP 402 mercury motor. It took me over a month to call about it and go look at it cause the ad said it was a project and did not run. Of course there wasn't a picture. Got there and it looked rough but the floor and decks were solid but the carpet was in bad shape. I assumed the motor was trash. It had mostly just been neglected. He wanted $650 for it and I ended up getting it for $450. I was thinking cool. Got it home put a new gas tank and fuel line on and guess what?? It fired up. After it fired, I was thinking wayyyy coool. I have been using it over the last two, just as I got it. I did put another trolling motor, depth finder and batteries from my old 1432. I tuned it up. The biggest problem I had was the tab on the block that had the mounting hole for the starter had been cracked and it eventually broke. I fabricated (I use the term fabricated loosely) a couple of stiff steel bars that mount to other parts of the motor to brace the starter. With some tweeking, I got it to hold and work well enough, that I have left it this way for the last year or so without any issues. The boat is a little smaller than I would like and the motor doesn't have T&T. But overall I am pleased that I ran across it.