Sylvan 1600 Explorer Deck & Carpet

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wingsdrew16

Reaction score
Hello! New to the site and grateful such a forum is out there. This winter I am going to replace the decking and carpet on my 1600 Huntsman. This is my first boat (of this class) and I am an absolute Noob so this should be interesting. I have carpentry/woodworking skills but nothing like this. I am certain there are going to be a variety of unanticipated lessons but I am confident the wealth of knowledge here on this site that will help me see the project through.
If there is any advice that anyone would give prior to the start I would appreciate any guidance.
Andy97 Sylvan 1600 Explorer.jpg

I might make one small change to the support on the starboard side but come to find out it has a metal cap so if I want to reduce (make it a little smaller) I will need to cut a section out and reweld. It is about 8" now and would like it to be 4-5" max. Just don't want to get over my head (maybe too late already).
I did find out that the main floor boards are 1/2" not 3/4" like I was expecting and have read not to add any weight (replacing with 3/4") so I guess I will keep it that way.
The one thing I can't figure out yet is I can't figure out how to remove the very front board at the top of the bow. It is a piece of 1/2" + 3/4" stacked. I can find any screws holding it but it won't budge.
Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
Andy

DaleH said:
Look at a lot of projects here ... for sure! And consider marine vinyl over carpet, but that's admittedly just my bias.

I have never seen the vinyl. What is the rationale of going that way? I'm interested in other options but will need to look at the cost. Don't want to spend more than I anticipated (that is already at risk due to some cracking in the console).
If you don't mind can you expand on advantages of vinyl?