Walter wasn't home today, but a few of his/her friends were

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richg99

Reaction score
Got out on the lake this morning for a few hours.

A friend, the other day, enlightened this old person, that Senkos come in a number of different sizes. I didn't know that since all I saw in the stores were the 5-inch version. Sure enough, they sell 4.. 5...and.. 6-3/4 inc and maybe additional sizes???

Equipped with some small O rings, and a package of the 4-inch Senkos, I had about ten or more solid bites today in two hours. Almost as good as my 8-acre pond back home!

Since I got on this Senko kick, I had also purchased some Weedless Wacky Rig Circle Hooks. I've never used circle hooks before. I attribute the five or more lost fish today to my misuse of circle hooks.

I actually watched a decent 1 1/2 to 2 lb. bass suck the Senko in, start to swim away...and....then....I "set the hook". Of course, for those who have used circle hooks, you can immediately see that I pulled the hook and worm right out of the bass's mouth. One is supposed to "reel slowly and let the circle hook work its way to the corner of the fish's jaw and hook her all by itself"

Well, I have been slamming fish who bite my lures for over 70 years. This old codger isn't going to sit idly by while the line streams off into the bay...while I should be waiting for the hook to "set itself". Bah humbug!!

After I figured out what was happening ( lots of pickups and runs, and no hooked fish) I dumped the expensive Weedless Wacky Hooks and put on a J hook. Other than one cut line, I landed almost every other fish that came my way.

Six in the boat, two more lost jumping, and some taps that may, or may not, have been bass, as opposed to bluegills.

Great way to start a morning. rich

p.s. A few pix below.

Attachments

• CIMG_20180516_075307.jpg
    CIMG_20180516_075307.jpg