What is the shallowest running jet boat?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scuba559

Reaction score
I need some help and opinions about the shallowest running jet boats.

I have been running a 1448 Tracker with a 25 hp jet tiller for 2 years now. I am need of a jet boat that can haul 2-3 people, has a center forward console/standing to see obstacles, mainly set up for bass fishing and runs in 3-6" of water all day. Here is a video of my river: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSXN0IoLhwU&feature=share&list=UUhsb-7HwAgW3sM7v50q-Rxw&index=3

My buddy has an Alweld 1652 with a tunnel, center console, and honda 50/35. This thing seems to be the ticket but I live in CA and can't find a dealer anywhere remotely close. He met someone half way across the US to pick it up. I like this because the hull is 390 lbs i can't imagine his setup without engine weights more than 500lbs.

It seems like the G3 ccj 1656 or 1860 would fit the bill but the dry weight on the hull is 830lbs, seems real heavy when compared to the Alweld. I am afraid that if i spend 22K on a G3 and i am hitting bottom everywhere i might flip out. The seaark seems like an option however again no dealer and they are really expensive.

Lastly i like the idea of a jet tunnel, my current boat does not have one and the only time i hit something it is on the foot, I think the tunnel would help out a lot!

Does anyone have an experience with the g3? or have any other manufactures/ setups? Max i can spend is 20K and i need the shallowest running boat period.

Thanks!

Have you considered doing a stick steer conversion on your tiller setup? I think the cost would be a lot cheaper and you already know how your hull handles your water. Maybe add some pods down the road if you still need to get the rear up a bit.